Knowledge · Motherhood/Parenting

You’re NOT going BALD!

Well beautiful ladies, here we go.

When my son turned 4 months, I started losing my hair in a scary way, so I mentioned it to my mom and that’s when she said: ” Oh Sweet, your boy recognizes you as his mom now!”

To be honest, I wasn’t much surprised with the answer.

When I had my elder daughter, the same thing happened to me. At that time, I shared my concern with my mother-in-law as she was visiting, and she replied with the same phrase. I didn’t bother digging it out then and what made me forget about it is that I had a haircut afterwards, got busy and the hair fall came back to normal again.

This time, I was more curious to check it out as my hair is longer now and falling out like crazy. Another reason for me searching it out is to share it with new mommies or those expecting so that they know what is it all about.

hairloss

First, I searched my mom’s answer but found nothing that relates hair fall and baby recognizing his/her mom. I think it’s one of the myths elder people used to share with new moms not to make them worry and cheer them up during this period.

Until scientists and researchers find a connection between the two, the truth behind the whole story is as follows.

Postpartum hair fall is a common thing that happens to all new moms. It starts about 3 to 6 months after delivery. One thing for sure is that it’s NOT going to make you BALD! This is normal and will go away by the time your baby blows out his 1st candle.

new-parent-survival-guide-comic-woman-320x320

Scientifically speaking, as per Baby Center, normally, about 85% to 90% of the hair on your head is growing and the other 5% to 15% is in a resting stage. After the resting period, this hair falls out – often while brushing or shampooing it – and is replaced by new growth. An average woman sheds about 100 hairs a day.

Baby Center continues; during pregnancy, increased levels of estrogen prolong the growing stage. There are fewer hairs in the resting stage & fewer falling down each day, so you have a thicker and more luxuriant hair.

So what happens after delivery is that those pregnancy hormones go back to normal again and your hair starts acting as supposed to be on pregnancy-free days :p. At around 3 or 4 months old of your baby, your hair will start falling out the 100 hairs it’s supposed to shed daily, plus the ones that were stored for the previous 9 months. And that’s why you will see it as a terrible thing happening to your hair.

If your hair is long, you might experience it more obvious than women with short hair.

608340ccacd1e20c19dc5170d8e67b48

What can you do about it??

I don’t like to be a person who tells bad facts but to be honest, nothing much can be done to stop the hair fall.

Some of the things that you may try are:

  • Changing products and hairstyles that give your hair a fuller look.
  • Stay healthy by eating well and taking your prenatal vitamins.
  • Shampooing less may help sometimes.
  • Skip blow-dryers, curling and flat irons if you can (as if you have time for it any way :D).
  • Postpone highlights, perms or chemical treatments if possible.
  • Have a hair cut and change your look for the time being (a short, wash-and-go haircut might be a bit easier for you with a new baby in the house).

P.S. New moms with long hair; please take care for hair threads. They can easily wrap your little one’s fingers, toes, wrists, and ankles and may cause real pain to them. If you find your baby crying for no obvious reason, check out for tight strands of hair.

One thought on “You’re NOT going BALD!

Leave a Reply

