Knowledge · Motherhood/Parenting

Edible Gold Liquid

Hello everyone. I’m back again with a bit of advice that will give you so many health benefits and sometimes work as the perfect medication.

I’m going to talk about the Edible Gold Liquid or in shorter terms; HONEY.

I know lots of you are aware of honey being a very beneficial natural ingredient that should be introduced to their life. But in today’s post, I’m going to talk about how did I use it personally in the past couple of weeks.

So as a start, I’ll give you heads up on why I’m writing this post now. Well, we’ve been sick for the last 2 weeks and believe it or not, Honey was our saver.

It all started when my daughter went to the daycare one day and came back with that horrible cough. Next day she also introduced the blocked nose and difficulty in breathing well especially at night. Next morning , it was Hubby’s turn and later in the evening, mommy (myself) had to catch the virus off course. We tried to save our little one but it didn’t work :(.

So Mommy has to do something about it and here comes the Honey mission.

For my little daughter who’s age is 2 years and 5 months old, I started adding a teaspoon of honey twice a day in her milk bottle. Off course continued to give her the medicine she had from the doctor’s prescription but not in a very efficient way. As toddler’s preferred word is “NO” so what if it was a medicine related thing. Believe me, she threw tantrums for that. (anyway who the hell loves taking medicine :p)

Then for the big sick people around the house,we started proper medication but wasn’t really very helpful in terms of “fast results”. So every night, hubby cut a lemon into 4 pieces, boil it and add 1.5 tablespoon of honey. I did the same but with some additions like ginger and cinnamon.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Our cough and flu started retreating directly and I even stopped my medication after 2 days (i’m not a big fan of medicine just like my daughter :p). All our viruses faded in a week time and and we were so lucky as I knew some moms who had to visit the hospital with their babies for a couple of days.

For the little 6 months old boy, it was still too early for him to have honey. For those of you who don’t know, natural honey contains a spore of a bacterium called Clostridium Botulinum. This can cause a rare form of food poisoning (botulism) in babies. As per Sara Scenker, dietitian from the Baby Centre.Β If your baby have botulism, symptoms might start showing 8 to 36 hours after eating honey. You should immediately report it to your doctor once your baby eats honey and have below symptoms:

  • Constipation
  • Listlessness/spiritless
  • Lack of appetite

Another reason why honey is not a good option for babies under 12 months old is that they will damage their emerging teeth. Honey and sugar has the same effect.

To sum it up, honey is Β a natural healthy ingredient to be added to your daily lifestyle and routine, but please make sure to keep it away from your babies who are under 1 year old.

Stay healthy until we meet again and please let me know if you’d like me to write about the full benefits of honey and I will be glad to do so.

❀

Leave a Reply

