Knowledge · Working Mom

Working Mamas: Stay Fit!

Time!! It’s all about time.

Mommies, I hear you well. How not and it’s been my answer for the past five and a half years. Whenever I discuss this with myself, I just blame it on time. Whenever I have a chat with anyone about staying fit, I blame it on time. But guess what, not anymore.

When I had my second baby, I decided to “make time” for myself. No matter what, i’ll find at least 10 minutes during my day.

Before going through my post, I have to tell you few facts about me: I’m not at all that person who never misses her “healthy breakfast” or make sure my lunch has all the proteins my body needs. I’m not that person who makes sure to have a light healthy dinner or stands in front of the supermarket shelves trying to calculate calories in products I buy. I’m also not that person who drinks 4 bottles of water daily.

In fact, i’m the opposite of all.

I never have my breakfast except for Fridays. My lunch is whatever I managed to cook the night before. My dinner could be any thing, starting by a Thyme sandwich, ending with a fat cheese burger or a seafood buffet dinner. Water is not my friend; I always get sick if I drink water in the morning (now I can say “used” to get sick).

But now, I reached a point where I need to change all of that. I’m only 27 and can’t be that lazy. So I decided to start with few exercises daily, a protein morning drink instead of my beloved coffee and as of now drinking almost 1 liter of water a day. For me it’s a great start.

Let’s hope my boss is not reading this or I’m busted :D.

I did my research and found lots of exercises that can be done almost everywhere so I put together what suits me and started a full body workout that takes 10-15 minutes of my time and decided to give it a try. Everyday, I escape to the toilet in our office and finish my workout successfully :D. Yes you read it right ;). Although it’s a small space but it’s good enough for me. In case there’s any exercise that can’t be done there, I start my workout 10 minutes before I leave the office, then walk home (it happens that I live within a walking distance), then finish that last exercise at home.

I’m sure there are 10 minutes that passes through your day and you’re doing nothing; if not, just go for that 10 minutes and you’ll reply to your emails after that. It’s not going to be the end of the world if you replied after 10 minutes (that’s why I hope my boss is not reading :D). If you’re doing the workout at home, grab your kiddos with you for a more fun session or escape to your room and do it. It’s all manageable if you decided to change. And believe me, it’s so worth it. It will make you feel better. It will give you the energy you need to finish another day at work and survive another active day with the kids. You’ll also serve as a great model to your children.

I’ll list some of the exercises that can be done almost any where, and keep it on you to add or try out my list and tell me what do you think ;).

Until then, Stay fit Mamas <3.

Exercises from my workout (you may not be familiar with all of them so google it):

  • Wall Squat
  • Single Leg Row
  • Jumping Jacks
  • Squat Jumps
  • Chair Squat
  • Lunges
  • Bridges (needs to be done at home)
  • Squat
  • Doggy Leg Raises (needs to be done at home)
  • Chair Dips
  • Knee push-ups (I do this at home)
  • Air Bike (needs to be done at home)
  • Steam Engine
  • Arm Circles
  • Arnold Press Standing (this needs dumbbells but as a beginner I don’t use them now)
  • Walking High Knees
One thought on “Working Mamas: Stay Fit!

Leave a Reply

